Grammy Award Nominations 2010 – Ruth’s Picks

Okay, so the Grammy Award nominations have been announced, and an awards list just wouldn’t be the same without me picking my favourite! So below with the list of the lucky nominees in each category, and who I’ll be betting my chocolate coins on…

Song of the Year

‘Poker Face’ Lady GaGa
‘Pretty Wiings’ Maxwell
‘Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)’ Beyoncé
‘Use Somebody’ Kings of Leon
‘You Belong With Me’ Taylor Swift

I’m betting a coin on  POKER FACE – LADY GAGA to win – Simply because I HAVE to listen to this song before I go out on a Friday night, it really gets my dancing feet moving.

Pop Duo or Group With Vocals

Black Eyed Peas, ‘I Gotta Feeling’
Bon Jovi, ‘We Weren’t Born to Follow’
The Fray, ‘Never Say Never’
Daryl Hall and John Oates, ‘Sara Smile’
MGMT, ‘Kids’

I’m betting a coin on BLACK EYED PEAS – I GOTTA FEELING to win – Another song I can’t help but dance to, regardless of if I’m in a club, my car or sat at my desk.

Best Rock Album

AC/DC, ‘Black Ice’
Eric Clapton and Steve Winwood, ‘Live From Madison Square Garden’
Green Day ’21st Century Breakdown’
Dave Matthew Band, ‘Big Whiskey And The Groogrux King’
U2, ‘No Line on the Horizon’


I’m betting a coin on GREEN DAY – 21ST CENTURY BREAKDOWN to win – not because I think it’s better than all the other albums in the running, but because I’ve been a Green Day fan since I was about 13, so I’m sticking by them.

Best Rap Solo Performance

Drake, ‘Best I Ever Had’
Eminem, ‘Beautiful’
Jay-Z, ‘D.O.A. (Death Of Auto-Tune)’
Kid Cudi, ‘Day ‘N’ Nite’
Mos Def, ‘Casa Bey’


I’m betting a coin on EMINEM – BEAUTIFUL to win – because he really is beautiful.

Record of the Year

Beyoncé, ‘Halo’
Black Eyed Peas, ‘I Gotta Feeling’
Kings of Leon, ‘Use Somebody’
Lady GaGa, ‘Poker Face’
Taylor Swift, ‘You Belong With Me’

I’m betting a coin on  BEYONCE to win – not my favourite song out of all of them, personally I prefer the BEP’s, but I think this song was amazing, and deserves the prize.

Album of the Year

Beyoncé, ‘I Am…Sasha Fierce’
Black Eyed Peas, ‘The E.N.D.’
Lady GaGa, ‘The Fame’
Dave Matthew Band, ‘Big Whiskey And The Groogrux King’
Taylor Swift, ‘Fearless’


I’m betting a coin on LADY GAGA – THE FAME to win – I LOVE this album, it’s never got old… however, Beyonce and Taylor Swift have been pretty lucky with awards this year, so I reckon it will be one of them.

Best New Artist

Zac Brown Band
Keri Hilson
MGMT
Silversun Pickups
The Ting Tings

I’m betting a coin on MGMT to win – however, neither the Ting Tings or MGMT are new this year as I remember writing about them last year…

Best Female Pop Vocal Performance

Adele, ‘Hometown Glory’
Beyoncé, ‘Halo’
Katy Perry, ‘Hot N Cold’
Pink, ‘Sober’
Taylor Swift, ‘You Belong With Me’

I’m betting a coin on PINK – SOBER to win – Pink is my absolute hero, I think if I was going to be like anyone in the music business it would HAVE to be her, she is an utter legend.

Best Male Pop Vocal Performance

John Legend ‘This Time’
Maxwell, ‘Love You’
Jason Mraz, ‘Make It Mine’
Seal, ‘If You Don’t Know Me By Now’
Stevie Wonder, ‘All About the Love Again’


I’m betting a coin on STEVIE WONDER – ALL ABOUT THE LOVE AGAIN to win – you just can’t give it to anyone else.

Do you agree?

Ruth.xx

Originally posted by me on FemaleFirst.co.uk

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

